Team for Advanced Flow Simulation and Modeling


Research Overview

Research Highlights


Takizawa Lab

Undergraduate Research

TAFSM Featured

TAFSM Recognized

Publication, Preprints

Currrent Team Members

Collaborators, Ex-Members

AHPCRC, History


For more information:

T*AFSM Recognized ...

During the past several years the research accomplishments of the T*AFSM received major national and international recognition and visibility. Many times, at national and international platforms, the T*AFSM researchers were asked to give invited, keynote and plenary lectures, and short courses on leading-edge research in flow simulation and modeling.

Awards and Honors
The awards and honors received by the T*AFSM researchers since 1986 are listed below.
  • Presidential Young Investigator Award, National Science Foundation, 1986
  • Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 1994
  • Best Paper in High Performance Computing Session, 20th Army Science Conference, 1996
  • Commander's Educational Award for Excellence, US Army Soldier Systems Command, 1996
  • Computational Mechanics Award, Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers, 1997
  • Computational Fluid Dynamics Award, US Association for Computational Mechanics, 1997
  • Computational Mechanics Award, International Association for Computational Mechanics, 1998
  • Best Paper in High Performance Computing Session, 21st Army Science Conference, 1998
  • Fellow, US Association for Computational Mechanics, 1999
  • Visiting Fellowship, Science and Technology Agency, Japan, 2000
  • Visiting Professorship, University of Tokyo, Japan, 2001
  • Honorary Doctorate (Doctor Honoris Causa), Slovak Republic, 2001
  • Fellow, International Association for Computational Mechanics, 2002
  • Member, Executive Council, International Association for Computational Mechanics (2002-2014)
  • Visiting Professorship and Chair of International Cooperation, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan, 2004
  • Editor, Computational Mechanics, Springer, 2004
  • Fellow, American Academy of Mechanics, 2004
  • Member, Executive Committee, Applied Mechanics Division, ASME (2006-2011)
  • Fellow, School of Engineering, University of Tokyo, Japan, 2007
  • Samuel D. Conte Distinguished Lecturer, Purdue University, 2009
  • Chair, Applied Mechanics Division, ASME, 2010
  • AMCA Prize to the International Scientific Career, Argentine Association for Computational Mechanics, 2012
  • First Place Prize, Rice University Centennial Ken Kennedy Institute Research Nugget Competition (with T*AFSM), 2012
  • Eminent Engineer, Tau Beta Pi, The Engineering Honor Society, Colorado Zeta at US Air Force Academy, 2013
  • Computational Mechanics Award, Japan Association for Computational Mechanics, 2013
  • Highly Cited Researcher (Engineering), Thomson Reuters, 2014
  • Highly Cited Researcher (Computer Science), Thomson Reuters, 2014