Team for Advanced Flow Simulation and Modeling


Research Overview

Research Highlights


Takizawa Lab

Undergraduate Research

TAFSM Featured

TAFSM Recognized

Publication, Preprints

Currrent Team Members

Collaborators, Ex-Members

AHPCRC, History


Next FSI short course

For more information:

AHPCRC Bulletin: Summer 1995 - Volume 5 Number 3

AHPCRC Prepares for the Third US-Japan Symposium on Finite Element Simulation of Flow Problems

Tayfun Tezduyar (AHPCRC-UMN)

On April 1-3, 1996, the AHPCRC will host the Third US-Japan Symposium on Finite Element Methods in Large-Scale Computational Fluid Dynamics. This symposium is sponsored by Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics (AEM), the AHPCRC, and the Supercomputer Institute at the University of Minnesota. The team of organizers are Tayfun Tezduyar (AEM/AHPCRC, University of Minnesota), Mutsuto Kawahara (Chuo University), and Thomas Hughes (Stanford University). The earlier symposia in this series, both organized by the same team, were held in October 1992 at University of Minnesota and in March 1994 at Chuo University in Tokyo, Japan.

The following invited speakers and panel members confirmed their participation at the Symposium:

Takeshi Adachi (Mitsubishi Heavy Industries)
Jeffrey Derby (CEMS/AHPCRC University of Minnesota)
Shoichi Fujima (Hiroshima University)
David Gartling (Sandia National Laboratories)
Philip Gresho (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)
Katsumori Hatanaka (Nihon University)
Hirokazu Hirano (Chuo University)
Jeffrey Holland (Waterways Experiment Station)
Thomas Hughes (Stanford University)
Masahiro Ikenouchi (Mitsui Engineering and Shipbuilding Co.)
Andrew Johnson (AEM/AHPCRC University of Minnesota)
Masayuki Kaiho (Hitachi)
Kazuo Kashiyama (Chuo University)
Mutsuto Kawahara (Chuo University)
Noboru Kikuchi (University of Michigan)
Wing Liu (Northwestern University)
Akira Maruoka (Chuo University)
Yasuhiro Matsuda (Shinshu University)
William Mermagen (Army Research Laboratory)
Takashi Nomura (Nihon University)
Hiroshi Okuda (University of Tokyo)
Marie Oshima (University of Tokyo)
Yoji Shimazaki (Tokai University)
Walter Sturek (Army Research Laboratory)
Masahisa Tabata (Hiroshima University)
Takahiko Tanahashi (Keio University)
Tayfun Tezduyar (AEM/AHPCRC University of Minnesota)
Tsuyoshi Umetsu (Maebashi City College of Technology)
Robert Whalin (Waterways Experiment Station)
Gloria Wren (Army Research Laboratory)
Takahiro Yamada (Tokyo Institute of Technology).

The speakers will discuss finite element methodologies and applications in large-scale computational fluid dynamics. Among the topics to be covered are compressible and incompressible flows, high Reynolds number flows, flows with moving boundaries and interfaces, shallow water modeling, chemical engineering applications, 3D computations, mesh generation and update, iterative solution strategies, and parallel computing. The panel session will focus on the role of flow simulation.