Team for Advanced Flow Simulation and Modeling


Research Overview

Research Highlights


Takizawa Lab

Undergraduate Research

TAFSM Featured

TAFSM Recognized

Publication, Preprints

Currrent Team Members

Collaborators, Ex-Members

AHPCRC, History


Next FSI short course

For more information:

AHPCRC Bulletin: Summer 1997 - Volume 7 Number 3

Workshop on Unstructured Mesh Generation and Partitioning

Anita Anderson (AHPCRC-UM)

Charles Nietubicz, ARL (left) and
Keith Stein, Natick RDEC (right)
A workshop on Unstructured Mesh Generation and Partitioning, sponsored by the AHPCRC and the University of Minnesota departments of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics (AEM) and Computer Science and Engineering (CS&E), took place on 5-7 October 1997. The Workshop was held at the AHPCRC headquarters in Minneapolis and was organized by the following AHPCRC faculty researchers: Andrew Johnson (AEM), George Karypis (CS&E), Vipin Kumar (CS&E), and Tayfun Tezduyar (AEM).

The Program began with a welcoming reception and pre-registration on Sunday evening, which was held at the Hyatt/Whitney Hotel in facilities overlooking the Mississippi River. The following morning, Tezduyar and Kumar provided the opening remarks followed by the first session, which was chaired by Charles Nietubicz of the Army Research Laboratory (ARL). Nietubicz's session included talks given by Tom Hughes of Stanford University on Variational Multiscale Method - a Paradigm for Subgrid Scale Modeling and Computational Fluid Mechanics and by Mark Shephard of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute on Parallel Mesh Generation Using a Distributed Octree.

Mark Shephard, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Session 2 was chaired by Hughes and began with a talk given by Tezduyar on Mesh Generation and Update Methods in 3D Flow Simulation and Modeling. Tezduyar was followed by Andrew Johnson (AHPCRC-UM) who gave a talk on Automatic Mesh Generation/Regeneration Methods, and Keith Stein, Natick Research, Development, and Engineering Center (RDEC), who gave a talk on Unstructured Mesh Computation of Parachute Fluid-Structure Interactions. Stein is also a Ph.D. candidate in the AEM department.

The first afternoon session, Session 3, was chaired by Kumar and began with a talk given by Chris Walshaw from the University of Greenwich. Walshaw's talk was on Partitioning and Mapping of Unstructured Meshes onto High Performance Computer Architectures. Rupak Biswas of the NASA Ames Research Center followed with a talk on PLUM: Parallel Load Balancing for Adaptive Unstructured Meshes.

Tom Hughes, Stanford University (left) and
Andrew Johnson, AHPCRC-UM (right)
Jagdish Chandra, ARL
The first day of the workshop ended with Session 4, chaired by Karypis, and began with a talk given by Abani Patra of the State University of New York, Buffalo, on Partitioning and Solution Methods for Adaptive hp Finite Elements. Paul Plassmann, Argonne National Laboratory, followed with a talk titled Parallel Algorithms for Unstructured Mesh Computation. The final talk of the day was given by Shang Hua Teng, from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign on Unstructured Mesh Generation, Refinement, and Coarsening: A Unified Approach.

A reception and banquet, which were held at the Hyatt/Whitney Hotel, followed the day's activities. Jagdish Chandra, Deputy Director, Information Sciences and Technology and Director, Atmospheric Research, ARL, served as the banquet speaker. Chandra's banquet speech touched on the rationale for establishing the AHPCRC in 1989, its successes and its promise for the future, as well as its importance to the Army and to the greater Department of Defense community.

Sonja Smith, AHPCRC-HU (left) and
Kent Danielson, AHPCRC-UM (right)
Tayfun Tezduyar, AHPCRC-UM (left) and
N. Radhakrishnan, CEWES (right)
The Workshop resumed Tuesday morning with Session 5, chaired by Johnson. The first talk of the session was given by Kumar on Multi-Objective Graph Partitioning, and was followed by Karypis' discussion on Parallel Repartitioning of Adaptive Meshes and Kent Danielson's (AHPCRC-AEM) talk on Mesh Partitioning Approaches for Parallel Computation of Nonlinear Solid and Structural Finite Element Analysis. Danielson is an AHPCRC staff scientist and is located at the Corps of Engineers, Waterways Experiment Station (CEWES), where he works on collaborative projects with CEWES researchers.

Session 6, the final session of the Workshop, was a panel session chaired by N. Radhakrishnan (CEWES). The topic of discussion was Application Requirements for Mesh Generation and Partitioning Libraries. The panel members included Sam Holmes (Centric Engineering Systems), Carol Hoover (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory), Radhakrishnan, and Walter Sturek (ARL).